mtbr member
    Feb 2009

OT, Lumber jacking edit.

This is different but I think it's fun to watch.

A.M. Forestry, Jackstraw Work - YouTube

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    It is cool to watch. How many times has the tree not fallen the way you intended?

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    I am glad some local boys got that bid. I checked it out and saw how cut throat it was going to be and we decided not to bid. Not enough profit to justify the time taken away from technical climbing/ residential work.

Cool video though, it's easy work as far as tree work goes. It's good to see good clean felling technique and proper PPE in that video.

I have checked out some older jack straw projects and the technique does work.

It really does allow the aspen regrowth to grow up 5 or 6 feet and not get mowed down by elk.

Good stuff!

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    thanks Scott! I'm new at this so through my learning process quite a bit. If you leave too much holding wood on one side they will twist on you. You need to move quick! These trees that we are jackstrawing are all burnt from the Shultz fire. We are piling them up to help the aspen saplings from the elk. A lot of these are rotten inside and can twist and fall on you rapidly, it's freaking scary! I almost had two at once crush me the other day.

mtbr member
    Those basque sheepherders were all over the place. Those carvings look a lot like the ones on Bear Jaw.
    "Fart in a paper bag, after eating the #17 plate from filibertos. STRAVA!" M77Ranger.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by SuctionGoat View Post
    I am glad some local boys got that bid. I checked it out and saw how cut throat it was going to be and we decided not to bid. Not enough profit to justify the time taken away from technical climbing/ residential work.

Cool video though, it's easy work as far as tree work goes. It's good to see good clean felling technique and proper PPE in that video.