mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Noob Needs Trail Rec's

Hey everyone - I'm a noob that's been riding for the last two months exclusively on T100 and its offshoots due to its close proximity to where I live. Now that I've finally gotten the whole clipless thing down (knock on wood) and feel at home on the bike (Fisher X-cal), I'm looking for trail recommendations that would suit a noob. Also, are all the trails in the Valley as brutally rocky as T100? Thanks for any advice any of you may have.

Pivotal figure
    I don't really think of T-100 as 'brutally' rocky but parts of it are a bit nasty . You might want to give Hawes a try; a bit more of a drive but very different terrain. Desert Classic at South Mtn. is also a good option. SoMtn is pretty rocky but not in the same way as T-100. It's mostly granite without all the loose stuff.
    Desert Sunset Calls/Upward, Pain, Perseverance/Welcome Solitude

mtbr member
    Jan 2008
    If you live on the north east side, Pemberton trail and the Union Hills trails (Tatum and Cave Creek) are both "noob" friendly and fairly close.

Shred...it's the new drug
    Make sure you check out the mcdowel comp loops or maybe some pima dynamite if you like to pedal. If you're getting confident work up to hawes. After you've gotten plenty of trail tatoo's and rock rash, armour up and hit national and mormon for some gravity fueled fun.

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    My first trail was Javelina at South Mtn about 4 months ago. I think I stained my shorts the first time down, but by the third time I was more comfortable. Hawes is really fun too - I still haven't hit all the trails there.

Try to find someone experienced to ride with - it helps a lot to have someone good to chase around.

Challenge yourself, but don't be afraid to get off your bike and walk!
    I haven't reported my missing credit card to the police because whoever stole it is spending less than my wife.

mtbr member