Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member

I guess I can only get better at this.

Hi, I'm Ed and I'm a noob.

Mountain biking is quite possibly the hardest thing I've ever done. I'm so sore right now. I literally fall every 30 feet or so...into rocks, down cliffs, into cacti. My body aches.

I ate dirt within my first mile and continue to do so. I think I need to find some easier trails to help me get accustomed to the bike a bit.
    Hey guys, lets go play bieks!

Elitest thrill junkie
    No sport was as painful to learn as snowboarding for me. The tumbles down the mountain on the first few days beat and bruised the hell out of my body, could barely stand the next day. Rock climbing was a distant second (mostly just sore muscles).
    "It's only when you stand over it, you know, when you physically stand over the bike, that then you say 'hey, I don't have much stand over height', you know"-T. Ellsworth

You're turning black metallic.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by SpeshulEd View Post

I ate dirt within my first mile and continue to do so. I think I need to find some easier trails to help me get accustomed to the bike a bit.
    Good idea.

Where are you located? Might be a good idea to ride along with some others a few times.

My other ride is your mom
    Stick with it.....I fell more my first 6 months than in the last four years....it just takes time.

mtbr member
    I'm up in the NW Valley. I live near West Wing Mountain and have fooled around on a few of the hiking trails near the house.

Tonight I ventured over to Deems and did better on actually mtb trails. I still suck though. I'm awful on switchbacks and going down hills with loose rocks.

Hoping to go out with a few friends this weekend and hopefully they'll have some pointers.