How much further ???

Humbled by AZ riding

Ive been riding again for a few months, after taking a 10 year brake. I moved here from the Chicago area ~4 years ago. Ive been riding exclusively at Usery/Pass Mt and Hawes and I just cant believe how bad I suck. I guess Im just not used to the sustained elevation changes (since southern Wisconsin had none).

I rode from my house this weekend to the Hawes trailhead at the top of Hawes road. That climb up to where the Microwave tower trail drops in kicked my ass. I had to stop like 10 times so catch my breath and prevent myself from having a heart attack. I always have to stop on Cardiac hill twice for the same reason. Technically I have no problem with either but I have no endurance. Riding up the west side of Pass Mt from the horse staging area kicks my ass too.

Its so frustrating and I dont feel like Im getting any better. I hate feeling like Im going to have a heart attack every .1 mile on these climbs.

Powered by ice cream.
    Just hang in there. I moved to Prescott from the midwest and had a few years off the bike. I distinctly remember cresting a hill, throwing my bike down and laying on a rock trying to recover some semblance of normal breathing.

Fast forward a few years, and that particular section of trail is just a slightly difficult footnote. I hardly think about it.

The most important thing is to ride consistently a few times a week.
    Quote Originally Posted by buddhak
    And I thought I had a bike obsession. You are at once tragic and awesome.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Douger-1
    Ive been riding again for a few months, after taking a 10 year brake. I moved here from the Chicago area ~4 years ago. Ive been riding exclusively at Usery/Pass Mt and Hawes and I just cant believe how bad I suck. I guess Im just not used to the sustained elevation changes (since southern Wisconsin had none).