Blood, Sweat, and Gears

How long do fork bushings typically last?

I bought my 29er HT about 3 months ago. Since then, I have ridden about 250 miles, I am a beginner so I don't think I have ridden this thing too hard. I took it back to my LBS where I have free lifetime tune ups and I told them I have a bit of front & back play with my fork and a mild clunking noise when you apply the front brake and push or pull the bike. (SR Raidon 29" (Custom for Giant), Alloy Steerer, 15QR w/ Lockout, 100mm travel)

They told me the bushings were bad. I questioned what would cause this to happen in such a short period of time and I was told it was because I ride it a lot. Really, is that a lot? The bike still looks like brand new. I clean my bike after each ride, including being very careful to wipe the sliders in an effort to save the seals, check all my hardware for tightness, lube the chain etc. They didn't offer to do anything until I questioned what they were going to do about it and what about my 1 year warranty? He said they would talk to the owner to see what he wanted to do and he would call me, so far i havent heard anything. He also said perhaps Giant would just replace the fork but it was up to the owner. Does this should right or normal? Do bushings go out that quickly?

EDR
    Does this should right or normal? Do bushings go out that quickly?
    Normal? No. Possible? I suppose, but I will say that in my 8 years of mtb'ing (or so) I've never had a fork with bushings falter to the point I've ever noticed. Some of these forks I rode for years. Maye I've just been lucky.

From your description of what is happening it could very well be a loose headset causing the symptom. Don't expect the (less than) average lbs Joe to figure that out.

mtbr member