Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2011

Which full suspension ?

Some background first . I am a mountain bike newbie. I just moved here from Nebraska in March , then I was a 100 % roadie. I brought a mountain bike with me. I was an UN-official employee of a bike shop there where I would upload the pics on their web site. For this I was given cost on anything. The bike I purchased was a leftover 2011 Giant XTC hardtail. I upgraded the the shifters and derailleurs to SRAM X-9 and the forks are Bomber 44.
    I now work at Performance Bicycle in Scottsdale. I was selling cars but that didn't give me any time to ride so I quit ( brutal hours) . I went riding on South Mountain on Thanksgiving, we went from Javalina to Mormon to National up to the waterfall. I was getting beat up on the ride. It was the first time on a trail of that nature, I had several minor crashes, my rear end was jumping around on the downhills and there were several obsticals I could have made ( I thought) if I had full suspension ?? I also suck at climbing, on the road as well.
    So which bike has the suspension design that is efficient on climbs and works well on rutted or rocky downhills ect?? I will probably be a XC rider. I do well on the Sonoran Preserve, BCT and McDowels.
    The question is I can get employee pricing ( EP) from the following, De Venci, GT, Giant and Felt. Age here is 54 and I weigh 200 lbs. What do you think ??
    Joel

Not my house and car in the pic.

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    If you are limited to the above brands, the Maestro suspension from Giant seemed well balanced to me. I don't have any experience with the others.

Outside of those brands... Pivot is popular in this state for a reason. Santa Cruz as well. I went with the Rocky Mt. and their smoothlink 4 bar system and it is awesome going up and down.

Demo everything you can.

mtbr member
    Oct 2011