Calmer than you are.

Do Not Park Here at Hawes!!

I rode Hawes today and parked on the West side of Power just north of the concrete plant.

As I was leaving out to ride some guys in a shiny Benz parked next to my truck. Nice guy, David, I didn't catch a last name, introduced himself and explained how he helped build the trails at Hawes before he moved away to Bend, OR. I thanked him for his efforts and left out.

Couple of hours later, as I finished the Ridge Trail and bailed at Power Rd. I saw a maroon 90s model Blazer with a black top, gun-it out of the parking area. I looked at the lot to see the Benz door open and the alarm going off. No real leap of logic to figure out what's going down, so I studied the plates as the guy drove by giving me the stink eye, pointing at me and screaming something unintelligible. At the bottom of the road where it curves to go East his brake lights lit up and he made a left. Now my next leap of logic. I dont know how many were in the truck (limo tint), or what substances may have been abused, or firearms available, and I am feeling lonesome all of a sudden.

I shagged a$$ to my truck, threw in my bike and grabbed my only means of protection, "The Club" security device. Meanwhile, I am trying to dial 911 to no avail as I have no signal. AACCKK! http://forums.mtbr.com/images/smilies/mad2.gif I climbed the nearest high spot trying to get a signal and see charging across the desert in pale green Arab Chawjas, (read; green trucks) coming to my emotional and physical rescue were two forest service trucks with officers packing large caliber handguns. I flagged them down and explained what had happened and relayed the pertinent info needed to tag the perps. Apparently the Benz and all of it's Knight Rider technology had also called the police, who arrived mucho pronto.