A plethora of pinatas

New question here. Custom Hitch Mount Bike Rack

I remember seeing a thread on here about a local guy making custom hitch mount bike racks that can use the standard Yakima bike trays. He was taking the standard Yakima roof bars and customizing them into a hitch mount. My searches have turned up squat.

Can anyone help point me in the right direction?
    Marty

mtbr member
    I can help you out if you already have the rack portion.
    Or I can custom build you something from raw meterial. I have built a couple hitch racks of diferent styles.
    I'm working on one rite now that attaches to a pop up tent trailer.

mtbr member
    Hey mcoplea. I have a rack that I built that has the standard yakima rails on it right now. It holds two bikes, and grabs the bottom tube so no need to remove front wheels. It slides into a two inch receiver hitch. I built a different style that holds five bikes for me so i dont use the smaller one anymore. I am a machinist and welder fab man by trade. If you are interested, I can e-mail some pics. You can buy this one for cheap if interested.
    RAM speed: UP, UP, and away....!

mtbr member
    I looked into doing this too. Wound up deciding on a cheap rack instead. I'm interested in any info on this though...
    The secret to mountain biking is pretty simple. The slower you go the more likely it is you’ll crash.
    - Julie Furtado

A plethora of pinatas
    Thanks for the replies!

I am trying to do a hitch rack that will work with the Yakima trays. I have the 1 1/4" hitch receiver on my Honda Element and I want to carry 2 bikes on the back. I also have another vehicle that has 2" receiver and was hoping to be able to switch the rack back and forth with an adapter if possible.
    Marty

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by mcoplea View Post
    Thanks for the replies!