mtbr member
    Jun 2006

Crosscountry MTB Advice

CrossCountry MTB Advice

My Marzocchi-riding little brother has shamed me into upgrading from my 1988 Takara hardtail with cantilever brakes that I've been thrashing on for 18 years. I have to admit that only four of my Suntour gears worked when we went out riding our local trail, Desert Classic on South Mountain Park. It's time.

I'd say I'm an intermediate rider with an 80%/20% split for cross-country preference (Desert Classic) and National/Mormon mountain trails respectively.

My search has narrowed down to a few bikes at local shops in Phoenix that I'd like to support with my business:

$1299 - Gary Fisher Cake-3 DLX
    This is a 2005 closeout that seems to be a good deal. It felt light, but tall - although it was the right size for me (19"). I found this bike at Rage Cycles in Scottsdale. They had a full-on BMX demo track behind the store that I didn't feel comfortable on it enough to push it. Brakes were excellent, rear end seemed plush! It was my first test ride on a full-suspension, so totally foreign experience. Seemed to be a sound ride, although half the people I talk to bad-mouth Fisher's bikes calling them TREK clones??

$2000 - Specialized Epic Disc
    $2000 - Specialized FSR XC or StumpJumper
    The epic uses a brain fade shock that really seemed to work. I really liked the "tight" feel of the Epic coming off a hardtail. Just not sure the Epic could take the abuse thrown at it bombing down National Trail. Felt light. The FSR XC seemed too plush in the back – maybe due a cheaper shock or not set up for my weight… but still not as aggressive as the Epic.

$1299, $1699, $2199 - Jamis Dakar 1.0, 2.0, or 3.0
    These felt heavy (32 lbs) in comparison to the other brands. My bro explained that they were more AM vs XC. The 3.0 had some sweet components: Juicy 7 brakes, Fox Fork, XT. etc.. Overall, clean design, but just felt “porky”