mtbr member

Cleaning idea...

So ive been riding my current bike for about the past 2 months, and its had its issues sits its been sitting for quite some time (aka a couple years). So it is in desperate need to be cleaned, and cleaned thoroughly. Since i dont know what the condition of is with all the bearings and other moving parts and i dont know the last time it was ever cleaned VERY good. i figured this would be a good time to tear it down and clean and rebuild it since its hotter then an oven outside and i am unable to be awake at the break of dawn.

So plan is take everything apart, wash everything very nicely, and for parts that have grease or some kind of lubricant, take that off, clean it, and put fresh grease and or lubricant, inspect all the parts and then assemble it back together...and see if anything needs to be replaced etc

Is this advisable or should i just hang up my towel and fork out the money for a shop to do it...

~Disc~Golf~
    It's a great idea!
    I do it and have gained a great deal of satisfaction knowing the ins and outs of everything.
    Plus, you know it's done right, or atleast they way YOU want things done.
    If you get stuck, you can always refer back to here for more help.
    It's a bike not a rocketship - so don't feel intimidated - Good Luck!
    Honestly... ahh I give up

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    Highdell.. No Emily Batty in AZ threads (sadly ).. what are you doing here! Sound encouragement though!

Bloodied but Unbowed
    Be sure to procure a proper torque wrench so you can assemble it to correct specifications.

~Disc~Golf~
    SHNIPE - I like the AZ forum - you guys are fun!

mtbr member
    So what kind of tips can you guys give me? Any kind of specific order i should go for?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by highdelll View Post
    It's a bike not a rocketship - so don't feel intimidated - Good Luck!

Attached Images Attached Images  

~Disc~Golf~