mtbr member

Anyone that can show a beginner the Sonoran Trail System early morning 6/23 or 6/24

I've been riding for about once a week for a few months now. I've done a bunch of White Tanks, and other popular trails at least once to include Deems, Hawes, Trail 100, etc.

I'm interested in doing the Sonoran Trail System, but don't want to do it alone for the first time. Anyone interested in being a tour guide?

ben

Go Speed Racer
    I may be up to it on Sunday... Can you start at about 5:30 am?

mtbr member
    Yep , I can start at anytime. Just help me out with good directions to where I should meet you. I'll be coming from the El Mirage/Surprise area.

I appreciate the offer and will do my best to not make you regret it.

ben

mtbr member
    Do you have your climbing legs? Some of the hills there can really lay the beat down on you.

mtbr member
    I have to admit I'm not the best climber. I walk less and less each time I go out, but sometimes my will power isn't as strong as my legs and vice versa. For example, at Hawes, I made it past the first water damn on Heart Attack Hill, but not the second. I had to walk up to the next flat spot and catch my breath. Was able to make the second leg of that climb though afterwards. I didn't have to walk anywhere else on that ride, including Mines trail. I feel like some of my struggles that day was purely because I was seeing everything for the first time.

If you really feel Sonoran Trail is too much, I'll definately listen.

ben

mtbr member
    Nah man, Sonoran isn't awful. It's just there's some good hills there and they'll make you earn it. The one right out of the gate from the trailhead is a pretty mean one, especially since you're not warm and limber then.

Worst case, get off and walk or stop a minute. No shame.

BTW: Sonoran it one of my favorite places to ride. I was going there two three times a week in the winter. I heard they finished a bunch of new trails. Need to check it out one of these days.