Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member

Adding electrolites to water in hydration pack?

Almost became a heat casualty on my last ride. I think I need to put something in my water to help replace what I sweat out. Do any of you add something like electrolites to your water in your hydration pack? If so, what have you found works well?

ben

My other ride is your mom
    Quote Originally Posted by armourbl View Post
    Almost became a heat casualty on my last ride. I think I need to put something in my water to help replace what I sweat out. Do any of you add something like electrolites to your water in your hydration pack? If so, what have you found works well?

ben
    I've been using Nunn in my water for the past 4 years...but I don't bother with it for rides under 3 hours since I tend to not get into trouble until after then despite what I do to myself the night before...I would not bother with it under that time and focus on proper fitness and acclimatization instead....YMMV.

mtbr member
    Brawndos got electolytes

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Maadjurguer View Post
    I've been using Nunn in my water for the past 4 years...but I don't bother with it for rides under 3 hours since I tend to not get into trouble until after then despite what I do to myself the night before...I would not bother with it under that time and focus on proper fitness and acclimatization instead....YMMV.
    Maybe I should add that I'm the type of person that knows I need more than water. My rides are typically under 3 hours of moving time, but I'm out on the trail longer than that.

My current routine during the ride is to drink the Cytomax that I have in my water bottle frequently and supplement with water while on the move. I also will consume 2-3 gel packs at various times when taking a break. Sometimes I add a Cliff bar to the mix.