mtbr member
    Jul 2010

29er SS on SoMo?

Just got into a Raleigh XXIX, because I was looking for a change. It's my first 29er and SS all at once, and I'm having a blast. Typically, I mess around in Papago (it's a quick 5 minute ride (bike ride) from my house), and haven't ventured out much past that. I started riding as a way to excercise, but I got hooked and this is my first serious mountain bike.

Alas, my question... is it worth it to bring the bike out to SoMo, or will I just get frustrated? My endurance is good, and I can climb well. It's a full rigid bike though, so I'm not looking for any big drop sections, or rock gardens. Any suggestions on some good spots for a guy to go burn a few hours up with some monster wheels?

Thanks guys!

Also, please recommend parking options, and/or major cross streets to park/trail entrances.

banned
    I have that bike too. I learned to ride South Mountain on it.

Do it, it is good for you. Your legs are going to hate you though...

Try some Desert Classic first as that is the tamest that it will get as far as chunk is concerned. If you want to really open that sucka up, go to the McDowell Comp Loops. Hawes is cool too on SS.

No Clue Crew
    Apr 2005
    If you're just looking to expand your riding options, I'd strongly suggest giving Hawes or the MMP comp loops a whirl for SS, particularly a rigid SS.

This is only my opinion, but nothing at SoMo would be enjoyable on a rigid bike.

banned
    Quote Originally Posted by Blatant
    If you're just looking to expand your riding options, I'd strongly suggest giving Hawes or the MMP comp loops a whirl for SS, particularly a rigid SS.

This is only my opinion, but nothing at SoMo would be enjoyable on a rigid bike.
    Loosen up Blatant... literally, it will make the ride better

mtbr member