mtbr member
    Aug 2010

What you think about Oakley M si Hybrid frames?

I was going to buy these for biking, what do you think? What is the recommended color lens? Should I bother with Oakley or just buy some cheap affordable lens?

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    I have been wearing oakley since 1996, and will not buy any other brand...I liked them so much I worked for them for 2 years in a retail store as assistant manager...however it is all personal preference...the M frames are amazing, they r light, durable, and fit snugly. I would stop at a store, bring a helmet, and see how they fit under the straps, make sure they r comfortable...in some cases may have to go with a half jacket or similar depending. The best thing about Oakley is the quality of lenses!! The polycarbonate is very strong, and your optics will be unaffected (meaning it will not bend the light and you can feel comfortable in your entire field of vision)...as for color, ice iridium and black iridium are re darkest, with fire and emerald iridium after, gold iridium, then red iridium. Fire, gold, and red are high contrast, meaning they will help you differentiate colors, and in the shade, you can decipher differences in color easier. If you r in a forested area, I recommend the red iridium, dark enough in the sun, and light enough in the shade. As far as hybrid, that is your choice...lenses should be heater (biggest),strike, hybrid, sweep(smallest). Try different sizes on, see which you like best. I use a red iridium pro m frame for running, but I'm looking into a new pair for MTB, I'll prolly go hybrid red iridium myself. As far as money goes, I think Oakley is worth every penny!! Especially the optics...happy shopping!!

mtbr member
    Jun 2011