mtbr member
    Jul 2012

What to wear and how to wear it

OK here's the deal, I'm fairly new to riding to the point that I'm just starting to get out on the trails. So far most of my riding is on the streets and maybe some mild fire road stuff, so I haven't ever worn much for safety gear. Just an open face helmet, gloves, and glasses. (Yes I am wearing clothes).
    However I'm wanting to step up my trail riding and will also be heading to Mammoth this summer where I plan to do allot of riding.

My question is, what kind of gear/clothes should I wear?
    I have some knee/shin gaurds and elbow gaurds from when I used to ride a dirt bike so I plan to use all that. Also I will be buying a full face helmet.

So here are the more specific questions....
    Should I wear goggles or are sunglasses/ safety glasses OK inside a full face helmet?
    Thinking specifically of Mammoth, should I wear some sort of riding pants over my knee/shin gaurds or are my shorts OK?
    Do I really need a "mountain bike" specific full face helmet or is a dirt bike helmet ok?

Now my other hobby is drag racing where I choose to go overboard on my safety equipment, so I don't mind looking a little over dressed for the regular trails here or in Mammoth, I just want to be comfortable and properly protected.
    OK OK, it also wouldn't hurt to look like all the cool kids either.

thanks

mtbr member
    Depends on the type of riding. If your doing XC riding then some soft elbow pads/knee pads with your helmet and glasses.

This is what I wear when I am racking up miles. When I am doing drops I get out my hard plastic elbow guards. I don't have hard type knee protection b/c when I go down I go upper body first and roll (years of football training on how to fall I guess). If you want hard protection then by all means. Everyone falls different.