Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Ultimate mtb cycling backpack?

HI GUYS,

What a great site. Im studying industrial design at school, and have been asked to design the ultimate cycling backpack for XC/MTB racing. I live in Australia, so heat dispersion is important, as well as hydration and comfort. What about you guys,....What do you think is important in a bag and what is missing from the current range?

All of your comments are very much appreciated.

Cheers,

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    When I road my motorcycle, most backpacks were the same, but the feature I liked most was a helmet holder on the backpack which eliminated the need to carry one's helmet, leave it attached to the bike or have a very large helmet bag or large backpack just to keep from carrying my helmet in hand.

I think I created a run-on sentence.....sorry....

trail projectile

Love my Ergon BC2.

Five is right out
    Sep 2006
    Wingnut Hyper 2.5. Super well ventilated, really stable in rough terrain, accessible without getting it off your back, more comfortable than most other packs. You can carry a helmet and even some armour on it.

Hard to imagine improving that design at all for an Australian summer. Unless you replaced the side mesh pockets with stubby holders.

(Ergon BC2 is pretty good too, but I still prefer the Wingnut)

Flying in High in the Sky
    Jul 2011
    Something breathable, light weight, has water bladder and have carry options for both full face and regular helmets. Or how about a dedicated MTB pack for DSLRs with above features. I'll buy one in a heart beat.

mtbr member