mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Tread interference on new candy 3s

After being convinced by the bf of the benefits of clipless riding I recently purchased a pair of new Pearl Izumi Alp X Seek 4WRX shoes

Women's X-Alp Seek IV WRX - Pearl Izumi

which I was going to use for trailriding along with my newly purchased Crankbrothers Candy 3s. I am new to clipless riding and these are my first clipless gear. I install the pedals and cleats following the instructions to a tee but was surprised at how difficult it was to clip in. I used the shims included in the set to improve cleat contact with the pedals but it was still a pain to get the shoe in. I've a few reviews about the candy 3s that describe the same issues and suggested trimming the shoes to reduce tread interference but I really would prefer not to do that.

Have any of you guys experienced this issue. Are there other fixes other than grinding away on the shoe tread?

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator

Quote Originally Posted by TikiGoddess View Post
    After being convinced by the bf of the benefits of clipless riding I recently purchased a pair of new Pearl Izumi Alp X Seek 4WRX shoes

Women's X-Alp Seek IV WRX - Pearl Izumi

which I was going to use for trailriding along with my newly purchased Crankbrothers Candy 3s. I am new to clipless riding and these are my first clipless gear. I install the pedals and cleats following the instructions to a tee but was surprised at how difficult it was to clip in. I used the shims included in the set to improve cleat contact with the pedals but it was still a pain to get the shoe in. I've a few reviews about the candy 3s that describe the same issues and suggested trimming the shoes to reduce tread interference but I really would prefer not to do that.

Have any of you guys experienced this issue. Are there other fixes other than grinding away on the shoe tread?
    More shims and/or the shoe shields
    mtbtires.com