mtbr member
    Mar 2008

New question here. Shorter Baggy-ish Shorts?

Not talking daisy dukes but I'm looking for shorts that aren't the traditional baggy boarder short that comes to or below the knee. I'm not ready to jump to full spandex but also don't want something that seems to drag me down with the length when I'm suffering uphill. I think I prefer to have the chamois built in but open to whatever works well on the trials. The main pair I ride in are some Navaro's I got on clearance at REI some time ago. I live in GA so not looking for something really heavy either as the humidity plays evil tricks out here.

Thanks for your thoughts and recommendations.

mtbr member
    Jul 2012

Fat & Single
    My favourite shorts at the moment are Pearl Izumi Canyons, they come to just above the knee and are a tigher fit than regular shorts. They are made of a very light stretchy material so the tigher fit means that they still remain comfortable, ive been riding one pair for about 9 months now and since bought 2 more pairs in different colours, good deals can be found on eBay if you are patient.

They also come with a pair of PI 3D under chamois shorts which are pretty good too. I wear the Canyon shorts around casually too so they get a bit of use and abuse. Go a size smaller than you usually wear, i read that off reviews before buying and it was spot on. Im normally a large but medium in these fits nicely.
    Ti O'Beast
    Indy Fab
    One9
    Dirty Disco CX

Cow Clicker
    Prana Mojo shorts over a plush set of bibs.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    I don't like the huge parachute below my knee shorts either... I've accumulated a few pairs of decent length shorts over the years, and uhhh, my fovorite pair is a... pair of women's bike shorts :-D Thats right, I cross dress when I ride my MTB.

Sleek Jamis Exile Rider
    I bought these yesterday at academy. 30 bones

http://www.academy.com/webapp/wcs/st...+shors&Ntk=All

banned
    Aug 2012