mtbr member
    Oct 2005

Recommend me a new hydration pack

I have a Camelback Hawg that I've been using for years and it's time to move on. I haven't been keeping up with the latest advancements but I know some packs have system to elevate the body of the pack away from your back to help ventilation. I like this idea. What else should I look for?
    I need something to carry my helmet and strap armor onto and a large carring capacity similar to the Hawg. What can you folks recommend?

mtbr member
    I'd recommend Deuter. It's expensive, but IMHO the air backbone really works great. You can still use a camelbak reservoir, which is what I'd recommend. The 3L version does carry a helmet.

I've been wearing mine for 6+ years without so much as a single issue too, so it's definitely durable.

Amazon.com: Deuter Race EXP Air 3L: Clothing

Amazon.com: Deuter Race Air Lite 3L: Sports & Outdoors

Huffy Rider
    Vaude, they make a ton of different packs with a "frame" to keep it off your back and distribute the weight. Worth every penny...

mtbr member
    I use the Osprey Syncro 15. Awesome pack technology and bladder as well. I would highly recommend it.
    "Impossible is not a word, it's just a reason for someone not to try."

mtbr member
    Been using an Osprey Raptor 10 for about 6 months and love it.

Check this thread... Osprey

mtbr member
    May 2012
    Osprey.
    They work great. The bladders are easy to refill and put back into the pack. I love the magnet on the sternum strap that holds the bite valve!

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    Do the Ospreys suspend the pack off your back like the Dueter and Vaude?

mtbr member
    Mar 2012

Osprey

I just started using a Osprey Raptor 10 and really enjoy it. It does sit on your back but it breathes really well. I like the bladder system on it as opposed to the Camelback.

Huffy Rider
    Quote Originally Posted by Telewacker View Post