mtbr member
    May 2012

Plain T vs Jersey

I'd like to hear everyone else's take on what they wear up top.

I'm in my second year of mountain biking, and I decided to try a bunch of jersey type shirts. Athletic T's and full on jerseys.

I found that in warm weather they felt really hot, and in cold they felt cold. The exact opposite of what I would like.

Yesterday did an experiment and rode with a plain cotton T. I felt cooler. I may have gotten heavier with sweat, it overall seemed more comfortable.

I'd like to hear what the benefits of a jersey really are.

And just to clarify. I'm a baggy short type XC rider.

mtbr member
    I wear these Reebok tees that wick away moisture. They are some sort of poly blend I think but work fantastic
    Chances are .. You're full of !$@&?

mtbr member
    I just started riding about 2 months ago and I wear a loose dri-fit/microfiber type of t shirt. I really like em as they dry fast and don't get heavy like a plain T does.

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    I've become really fond of wool. I regularly use wool tshirts for riding and have found them to be very good for temperature control. I have also had success with some of the drifit shirts but it really depends on which one.

mtbr member
    Definitely merino.

I used to have techfibre t-shirts, but eventually they all develop perma-stink. I've washed mine with vingear and detergent boosters to get the stink out, but they start to wreak as soon as sweat touches them.

Now I only use merino tees. They're more expensive, but you really only need 1. They do not smell, and I find them to be really comfy.

mtbr member
    I'd say a lot depends on your climate, as to what feels best. If you live in a humid climate, like me, you want all the evaporative effect you can get... which isn't much most of the time. Wearing a soaking wet cotton T, is like a wet blanket in the summer, and asking for hypothermia in cooler temps. IME.