mtbr member

OT: Kayak helmet opinions

Yes I know there are paddling boards but I know a lot of mountain bikers are kayakers too. I'm just getting into kayaking and am looking for opinions on different helmets. The fact that there is no American safety standard makes it a little harder to compare different types. I'm not too interested in the Pro-Tec models, just seem to fragile. I've seen some nice looking helmets from Grateful Heads and Shred Ready but am looking for advice from those who have actually used some.

mtbr member
    Aug 2005

Smile helmets

You can't go wrong with Greatful heads, I have have the "Bird" model for a few seasons and am pretty happy with it. I have even taken a pretty big hit with it and it did it's job. Stay away from pro tec or any plastic helmet for that matter. They don't displace impacts over the area of the helmet. Seen somone take a hit with a protec and still get cut through the helmet. Check of NFA helmets as well.
    cheers
    Nick

KSC
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I've had good luck w/ my Shred Ready Sherlock, but as I'm getting into more creeking I'm longing for more coverage (ears, face). Depends what you're running. I think most of the major brands that make composites are solid, but of course fit is key. You might also check out the helmet they're talking about in this thread:

http://mountainbuzz.com/viewtopic.php?t=6405

Good luck. Hope you know what you're getting into. Before you know it you'll be selling your bike, wife, kids, anything for your next whitewater fix....

Gittyup!
    I agree w/ both of the above. Pony up and spend the bucks for a composite helmet. If you plan to do any creekin', something w/ good ear/temple coverage is a must. I personally like the cats over at Shred Ready. Good little company... helmets built by paddlers for paddlers. I'm sure Grateful Heads is comparable though.