mtbr member
    Nov 2013

Options for 45-60 F (8-15C)

Hi All, I have been commuting to work (90% trails) for about 6 months now, in Israel, and have got my summer clothes sorted but am struggling with the cooler weather. In the mornings it can be cold around 8-9C but once I am warmed up I get too sweaty in atop and softshell. Before I buy something else I wanted to see how you deal with this, should I go for arm warmers or a windproof long sleeve? Any other alternatives that work well.

Cheers
    Mark
    Last edited by Malachi; 01-28-2014 at 04:57 AM.

mtbr member
    I wear a medium weight wool jersey with a long neck zip and if it's cold a wind vest on top. As it gets warmer I can ditch the vest easily and open the jersey quite a lot to get the right temperature.

I think if you want to be comfortable on a ride you need to start a bit cold in your driveway. If you don't feel cold when you walk out your door you'll be overheating in 10 mins.

A SS jersey with arm warmers can also be a good option. You can pull the arm warmers down or off completely at a red light.
    Safe riding,

Vik
    www.vikapproved.com

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    That's like half my year here ( Boston MA) I like a long sleeve poly pro base layer and a wool sweater. Add a wind proof vest and that should be some good combinations to start with.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    arm warmers
    long sleeve jersey
    light jacket

All will come in handy - I do a lot of long climbs and long descents, so I might start with short sleeve and arm warmers, but might need to pull on the jacket for the descent.

mtbr member
    Nov 2013
    Well it looks like I'll have to buy it all! I start with a long descent and end with a long climb, each way. Do any of you use something like the Gore Phantom with the zip off sleeves or are they just a pain?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Malachi View Post