mtbr member
    May 2011

Noob question: If I want to wear baggy MTB pants do I wear regular bike shorts under?

Hi there.
    Perhaps a weird question but I'm new to this. Hope its ok.

I dont like wearing conventional lycra bike shorts but I do like the comfort the padding give me. If I buy a pair of baggy bike shorts (Fox, Yeti, etc.) do they come with padding or do I wear regular bike shorts underneeth?

Thanks in advance!

mtbr member

Noob question: If I want to wear baggy MTB pants do I wear regular bike short...

Most biking shorts do. I prefer to wear padded underwear then I can wear whatever shorts I like
    Chances are .. You're full of !$@&?

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    The better MTB shorts have a full lycra liner, often removable. I've got Pearl Izumi and Endura Humvee, both have fully removable lycra liners with chamois pads in them.

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by kingsqueak View Post
    The better MTB shorts have a full lycra liner, often removable. I've got Pearl Izumi and Endura Humvee, both have fully removable lycra liners with chamois pads in them.
    This. I've found most liners that come with the shorts are okay, but tend to have thinner pads and much thinner material in general. I use normal lycra shorts with good pads under my baggies for big rides.

mtbr member
    Aug 2013
    i'm sad that some of the best padded lycra shorts cost $150!

I Tried Them ALL... Moderator
    You don't need the best, padded lycra shorts. Get a closeout pair from Nashbar(under $50) and wear them under your choice of baggy cargo shorts.....DONE!
    "The mind will quit....well before the body does"

Save Jesus