mtbr member
    Mar 2008

Need some help with shoes

Well I just started riding a couple months ago and really enjoying myself. What I would like is if someone could recommend a shoe. Im not ready to clip in yet. I just find with the current sport sneaker im wearing I dont get good grip on the pedal in wet conditions. Also the base of the shoe is kind of wide in the rear. Sometimes when my feet are close to the crank on the pedal the rear of my shoe will hit the crank. hoping someone could steer me in the right direction.

Thank you in advance

Tony

Probably drunk right now

You're correct...

Quote Originally Posted by miztic1
    Well I just started riding a couple months ago and really enjoying myself. What I would like is if someone could recommend a shoe. Im not ready to clip in yet. I just find with the current sport sneaker im wearing I dont get good grip on the pedal in wet conditions. Also the base of the shoe is kind of wide in the rear. Sometimes when my feet are close to the crank on the pedal the rear of my shoe will hit the crank. hoping someone could steer me in the right direction.

Thank you in advance

Tony

Wet, rubber soled shoes are slippery. You'll likely slip regardless of shoe if your soles are wet and you're not clipped in.

My suggestion is to try on several different SPD compatible, rubber soled bike shoes at your local shop. This will give you a pair of shoes that you will have the option of going clipless with, should you decide to go that route in the future.

mtbr member
    check out shimanos non SPD shoes.

mtbr member
    If your looking to stay with platform pedals you have a couple options, depending upon your budget.

When the subject of platform shoes comes up, Five Tens are bar none one of the best platform shoes in terms of grip. Even without a stellar set of pedals, you can feel the difference. They are one of the more expensive platform shoes out there though running around $90 - $100.