Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Need New Shoes! I Ride Platform Pedals. Help Me Help Me

7K views 31 replies 30 participants last post by  GhostRing 
#1 ·
I've been riding platform pedals for the last 2 years, now, and won't switch back to clipless.

I need a decent shoe for the type of riding that I do: long XC rides.

Before you chime in about clipless being better for that, I have knee issues, and don't like mtbing attached to the bike. I do a lot of trekking up hills, pushing my bike, too, exploring places.

I've been using a new balance running shoe, but it's getting old. Way too old.

What do you think?

#10 ·
I hear this come up very often.
I too am interested in the Impacts- so are they chunky like a hiking shoe?
I typically wear Merrells Moabs as my daily shoes, are the Impacts a similar bulk or more?
That I can deal with, but I couldn't do more...

#8 ·
Definitely 5.10's.

I have Marzocchi Bombers which are re-badged versions of the Impact 2's. Same design, same Stealth sole except it doesnt have the Raptor tongue. These shoes are very grippy on pinned pedals. I use them with Crank Bros 50/50XX and Sun Ringle Octane pedals.

Unlike skate shoes (I have used Vans) which are very flexy, the 5.10's have enough stiffness for good power transfer but not too stiff that walking is awkward. Your foot wont slip off the pedals either, adjusting your foot placement on the pedal requires you to unweight your foot.

Drawbacks are unlike hiking shoes, running shoes and cycling shoes, 5.10's are hot to wear. There are holes on the shoes for "ventilation" but lack any mesh panels. They are also clunky and heavy and gets worse when wet. They also take a looong time to dry.

They are stylish enough to walk around in like at a post-ride meal/socializing. No more forgetting to bring separate shoes.