mtbr member
    Jan 2008

Need a Helmet Mount Light!!

I am just getting into night riding and need to get a light. I ride in an area that can get pretty technical, but I can only really afford to spend $200. I would like to get a helmet mount since that seems to be the way to go, but I've been doing research on lights for about a week and can't decide what is going to work best for my budget. Can anyone help?

Light freak
    Hello Sumo77,
    I just PM'd you with some information that may fill your requirements

mtbr member
    Sep 2007

Diy?

DIY is the way to go with the technology developing weekly, commercial vender's cant even keep up.

I just ordered all the parts for a 430-600lumen helmet mount light with a lithium ion battery and a 2-3:30 hour burn time. The total was only 120 bucks for parts. It will be my 4th light. Turns into a regular hobby before you even know it.

How mechanical are you?

Can you use a hack saw? a dremmel tool? Have you ever soldered, sweated pipe, ran a spot welder or any thing like that? Can you read a schematic? Ever done a car stereo install? Ever worked on PC hard ware? Work on your own bike?
    Are you patient?

Do you need a light but can wait a week or three?

If you answered yes to any of those you ought to be able to have a fun and enjoyable time making a great light. If you didn't answer yes to any you may still be able to produce a good light with minimal headache.

If the thought of soldering something scares you, you should probably start reading some light reviews.

Bandolero

Questions

Quote Originally Posted by bikerjay
    Can you use a hack saw? a dremmel tool? Have you ever soldered, sweated pipe, ran a spot welder or any thing like that? Can you read a schematic? Ever done a car stereo install? Ever worked on PC hard ware? Work on your own bike?
    Are you patient?

Do you need a light but can wait a week or three?

All those questions. It brought this one to my mind.