Thread: Mtb clothing

mtbr member
    Apr 2005

Mtb clothing

i was wondering what kind of shorts and jersey's are best for mtbing

are there like different types of materials and brands that are better than others (whats good for hot weather) im kind of on a budget and dont want to spend more than 60usd for shorts and a jersey

i live in a really hot place usually 90-110 degrees ferenheit in ( i guess i started riding at the wrong time ) tucson,az

i wanted to know whats better for like xc riding ill be doing lots of single track & fire roads so dont if i need specific equipment for that

thanx in advance

manny

mtbr member
    Jan 2005
    If you ride with a hydration pack and store your extra gear in that then you don't need a pocketed jersey. In that case you can use a workout shirt which are much cheaper and do the same thing. Think finely woven synthethics, they breathe very well. You can get those anywhere, Sporting goods, TJ Maxx, Wal Mart. Try to find the best fabric you can, chaffed nipples suck.

Shorts. You need cycling specific shorts. Voler and Hoss are two brands known for quality, comfort, and value. Go for baggy ones, cut just above the knee. The crotch should really fit well, in case you have to hike-a-bike, you don't want your shorts too low. You can also get padded undershorts, from Supergo, Performance and Fox. The Fox ones are the best and you can wear them under boardshorts. Then you're ready for the hot tub after you ride.

Lord of the Bling
    Apr 2005
    I about crapped myself when I started pricing this stuff. I've been wearing my girlfriend's (bite me) padded shorts, and found them to be pretty cool, but $50 for shorts? $99 for pants? There has to be a better way.

mtbr member