mtbr member
    Jun 2007

Looking for shoes like FiveTens...only stiffer

So I rode clipped in for a long time and then about 3 and a half years ago I switched over to platforms with FiveTen shoes. The primary reason for the switch was to gain more confidence on elevated skinnies and drops. But it turned out that I just had more fun on the platforms, felt like a kid on a big bMX.*
    Anyway, last summer I picked up a road bike which Im riding clipped in, while riding platforms on the MTB. When I started riding again this season I really started to notice the difference in stiffness between my clipless shoes and my FiveTens. The FiveTens just felt like mush and I could feel the loss in power transfer. So for the past couple of months I have had clipless back on the Mtb for general trail riding. Session or play type rides still get the platforms. When riding clipped I feel stronger without the loss of power I felt through the soft soles of the FiveTens. But I am not having as much fun and techy / rocky sections of trail that I would charge through are now making me skidish and giving me problems. I really want to get back on platforms, but need a sticky shoe that also has a stiff sole. There was talk that FiveTen was going to be releasing just such a shoe, but the last I heard it has been out off until 2013.*

What are my other options?

Are there any after-market foot beds / liners I could throw in the FiveTens to stiffen them up?

Are there any other shoes I should be looking at?

mtbr member
    Dec 2011
    Different model 5.10s have different stiffness. It would help those that are knowledgeable to know what model shoe you had.

Sent from my cm_tenderloin using Tapatalk 2

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    They have a spd version u can use. Maltese falcon I think is the name. Supposedly very stiff

mtbr member
    The Danny MacAskill signature freeriders have a stiffer sole and a reinforced toe box.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007