Looking for flat pedal shoes, unable to try on, looking for recs/comparisons

I live in an area that's an armpit of flat pedal riding (Indiana). Around here, it's definitely a "clipless or die" environment. I've been riding clipless since at least 2000. Currently on Crank Bros Candy SL's I've been using without serious complaint since 05. I have wanted for awhile to get platforms for the mtb, at least for part time riding, and have decided to just ride platforms full time in 2014 and maybe beyond if I like them full time.

I've had cheap plastic pinned platforms on my commuter for a few years, and just this fall got a freebie set of Kona Wah Wahs for them. My wife got a sweet Blur XC Carbon with full XTR this summer, and was adamant about having no desire to ride clipless pedals. I got her a set of Blackspire Sub4 pedals, and she loves them.

So, I'm switching my mtb over full time now. I figured it's time because my old Lake MX 165's have been glued back together far too many times. If I have to buy new shoes, anyway, might as well make the pedal switch. Not to mention, they're painful to wear when it's cold out. I'm going to be getting a set of Blackspire Sub4's, also, since I like the pin design.

For now, I'll just be wearing whatever shoes I've got for the wintertime. Probably straight up boots for the coldest rides. I will be getting good shoes later. But I want to dive into researching what's out in the market, because I have access to exactly ZERO shoes meant to be used with platforms. I've met one local wearing 5.10 Impacts, and there's no way I'm wearing those clunky monsters on XC rides.