mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Let's talk Helments .. get you mind out of the gutter!

So, I'm looking to get my first helment and been reading all of the posts here. Needless to say, I'm wondering why you all choose what you did.

Personally, Fitment is only half of my requirements, the other is saftey. With all of the odd injurys the worst thing for me to have is a head injury on a trail causing a concussion (engineer by trade).
    We all know we are going to fall, no matter how hard I'd rather protect my head as the body can heal or be replaced. ;-)

On with the question, whats a reasonably price to pay for a safe and comfortable helmet? MIPS, why aren't more availible?

I'm looking to pick up either:
    Scott Lin - MIPS and avail. in sizes ~$120
    Soctt Taal -MIPS one size fit all ~$75

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    Just a heads up, helmets won't really protect you from concussion, just catastrophic cranium failure and lacerations. If a huge heavy thickly padded football helmet won't prevent concussion, what would make you think our little light things would?

Most helmets are pretty even in the level of protection offered, just get one that is the most comfortable on your head, wear it around the store for at least 20 minutes to check for hot spots.

mtbr member
    I've gotten a concussion even with the helmet absorbing all of the impact and still shattering. At least my skull didnt shatter . . .

I'd look into the POC Trabec MIPS if it fits you. The others look too much like road/XC lids and I like a lot of protection on my MTB

avoid doors
    Apr 2012
    Poc MIPS

You will pay 170-200

Worth it.....I believe research

mtbr member
    Bell Super or Urge enduromatic both have excellent protection

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    So, after some research and knowing that a helmet can only protect one so much, I found the Scott Taal and got it for $75.