mtbr member

Knee warmers..who uses them and which ones for big quads?

I am 5'6" so finding anything that fits on short legs can be challenging. The average inseam for a "medium" is a little too long. I had some Pearl leg warmers that were just too long..couldn't stand them. I tried some Smartwool knee warmers...they are the right length if I wear longer socks..I get full coverage. Problem I am having is that if I can barely get the L/XL over my quads..at least enough to keep them from falling down. Maybe I need garters. Any other brands that may fit my short stumpy-@ss legs?
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

Oji
    Jun 2008

Defeet

I've been using Defeet wool Kneekers for years and love them. Stretch wool fabric is comfortable and stays warm even if you get caught in rain or snow. They stay in place while riding too.

Kneekers knee warmers wool

mtbr member
    I've been using Hincapie fleece/stretch knee warmers for a couple months now and I love them. Not quite enough to stand alone but they turn almost any wind pants into thermal value which is nice for the commute and doubles for my service tech job. Since I spend a lot of time on the floor fixing things, thermal barriers are very nice.

The length is apparently a subjective issue, because I have found the extra length to be a bit handy to tuck under the main shorts hem. Doing so helps the gripper elastic stay in place a bit better and reduces thermal gap issues.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    I have some pearl izumi that I paid $20 for. Kind of a light fleece inside and a wicking poly outer. It's a trick to get them.right but once you do they stay in place. Wore them today in 48 degree weather. Not cold but my knees don't function if.not kept warm.enough.
    There's something about those long grueling climbs that gets my front end all stiff... And I'm not talking about lockout...

mtbr member
    Jan 2004