Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member

Knee & elbow pad search - 661, Fox, TLD, POC

I decided it was time to get some knee and elbow pads, but none of the shops around here stock them, so picking out the right ones for me online has been a pain. I'm still not done my search. Below is what I've learned so far, and I'll update this thread when I've learned more. If you're able to try all these on in person in a store, don't bother reading this, but hopefully this will be helpful to folks like me trying to figure this out without having to buy every one.

About me
    My riding is east coast rocky/rooty XC/trail, with logovers and modest drops. Hills tend be short (by western stds) and technical. I just want some pads with decent protection that are comfortable enough that I'll wear them regularly, so I'm willing to sacrifice maximum protection to get more comfort and I'd prefer softshell. I've never worn pads for riding before, so I'm no expert on the subject, just a guy who's read reviews and tried a few on. I have zero loyalty/affinity for any of the brands or sellers here. I'm 6-4, 175 lbs.

Elbow pads
    The main options I looked at online were 661 Evo d30, 661 Evo XC lite, POC Joint VPD, and Troy Lee (TLD) KG5500. I was learning towards the 661s, either Evo or Evo XC.

The first ones I ordered were the Evo (size m) and POC (m). I also ordered the TLD 5500s. My impressions out of the box: