mtbr member
    Dec 2017

I think its time for some mountain bike shoes

The soles of my running shoes have worn out to the point that it's just a smooth surface. I have had many pedal slips and I'm pretty sure it's because of this.

I have thought about clipless, but I am still learning/having crashes. I did find it a bit harder to maneuver with the 29er than the 26 on my trails that have a lot of twisties and berms.

I also thought about skate shoes, but I hear that they wear out fast, and flex a lot.

What would you recommend?

mtbr member

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by John445 View Post
    What would you recommend?
    I wear these:

Adidas Five Ten | FIVE TEN FREERIDER
    Safe riding,

Vik
    www.vikapproved.com

mtbr member
    Five ten freeriders.

WillWorkForTrail
    5:10s and done. Don't worry about clipless unless you're trying to race and want every last watt of power you can get. There's really no other advantage, and flats will keep you honest in terms of technique, which will make you better in the long run.

mtbr member
    Feb 2018
    I've got 5-10 free rider pros and they are very good.

mtbr member
    510ís and and HT pedals. Best combo by far.

IMO. Flats are the only way to go. With the proper technique, you can put out the same watts as a clipless. Sam Hill is winning EWS enduro races on flat pedals.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by ALimon View Post
    Sam Hill is winning EWS enduro races on flat pedals.
    And multiple riders are winning EWS enduro races on clipless. Based on the op it sounds like John is getting good advice here and would do well with 510's but these clipless vs. flats wars are just dumb, obviously flats are not the only way to go and there are advantages and disadvantages to both systems.
    I brake for stinkbugs

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by J.B. Weld View Post