Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Chubby Chaser

How often do you clean your camelbak (or any other hydration pack) bladder?

I had a camelbak classic hydration pack that I've been using for a couple of years. I use to just hang it up after using it and the next time I take it out I rinse it with really hot water and a bit of soap. I usually stored it with water inside and it has always came out nice and clear.

I just bought a new Osprey with a removable bladder and I was wondering if I should do the recommended cleaning and drying it or if the method I was using before is alright.

I realized it's an absolute pita to dry it out completely and I think leaving it with a bit of moisture still inside + leaving it open is worse than leaving it filled with water and sealed.

What do you do with yours?

mtbr member
    ive always drained it when done using and put them in the freezer until next use. once in a while i will add a drop of bleach/hot water, then fill and drain a few times

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    Clean it? Uh-oh....

Helmetless Crasher
    Clean the mouth piece every ride.

Drain the bladder AND hose, then let the bladder hang upside down propped open via the camelback "legs" with the filler cap open.

Totally clean/dry within a few days.
    '95 M2 StumpJumper FS
    '11 Cannondale RZ 120-two

inexperienced at large
    Apr 2011
    I refill each pack a couple times a week and haven't cleaned either in the year that I've owned both of them. I'm very particular about taste changes in my water, and I have to say, I still haven't noticed anything wrong with my Camelbaks. I know that some would say what I'm doing is "reckless!"

Chubby Chaser
    That's the thing.... I never really thoroughly "cleaned and dried" my camelbak and the water never tasted funny nor did I see any mold. Then again that's a huge question mark for me as I wasn't able to remove the bladder on the old classic camelbak. I never got sick though so I guess it never got moldy.