mtbr member

A horrible thing happened to me and now I want some knee protection......

I am relatively new to mountain biking. I just discovered it six months ago or so, and now I can hardly go a day without riding. I imagine at 45 I am older than most here. Yea I rode when I was younger, but I never really got into it. I am fortunate though that I live next to Mission Trails San Diego, and I have awesome trails in my back yard.
    So today I was getting home, riding in at the bottom area, there are all these small rocks and just a small path to ride on or its the rocks. So I go around a bush and I am on a head on collision course with a jogger. Technically, he is on the right side of the path, I am on the left side. The path was small, as everything around it is small rocks. Well, we didnt have much time to avoid each other and I thought he would get out of the way. It didn't happen. Instead this big guy, even older than I am, reacted by screaming in fright and pushing me off my bike. So I flew onto the small rocks. This person, I swear I would have liked to do harm to him, but he was horrified and quickly ran to provide assistance for me, otherwise I would have liked to really do harm to him. Well, I cannot. I am a licensed healthcare professional, and any kind of assault charge means I lose my license. So i have always told my self, always walk away. I thought he was assaulting me but i suppose in his mind he thought he had no other choice to avoid a collision. I accepted his hand to help me up, exchanged a few words, like "wtf" and rode away. now my right knee is really hurting from the impact. I am really thinking knee protection. But I hardly ever see anyone on the trails with knee protection. I find this odd since the knees seem like a common area of impact.