mtbr member

Gloves with GOOD crash protection for hand/wrist?

G'day,
    I will soon be up for new gloves and want something with more protection.
    I'm a healthcare professional who works with his hands.

Had a recent crash on single trail and was lucky to get away without a more serious hand wrist injury. Hence i'm looking for gloves that will best minimise injury during an accident.

Basic wants:
    * Padding or multiple layers / thick material around the heal of the hand, hand/wrist junction and palm.
    * Full finger.
    * Fairly well vented (warm climate)
    * Lack of 'feel' due to a thick palm NOT a problem as I ride motorbikes (road) and used to working with a thick glove.
    * Ride X/C or general trail riding. Also commute 4 days a week so can justify a good (i.e. fairly $$$) glove.

Probably will be looking more into Motocross gloves as bike options seem a bit light, but throwing this out there to see if anyone has a good product suggestion.

Thanks for helpful info.
    Ride Safe.

www.lighttouchchiropractic.com.au Manly Sydney

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    There are some downhill-specific gloves that come pretty close to what you are looking for. The Scott DH Extreme is probably one of the sturdiest I can think of. I think they still make those. Oakley, Fox, etc. make other options.

I still think you may have better luck with a motorcycle glove though. If you're comfortable riding in them, they'll offer better protection than anything.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010