Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Gloves with gel and padding

10K views 21 replies 19 participants last post by  Loll 
#1 ·
I've been riding for over 10 years, and I have always used half finger gloves with good amounts of padding, and more recently, gel.

I am going to make the switch to full finger gloves though, and I am pretty happy about the performance of my old gloves so I will likely just get the full finger versions of my old gloves.

I did notice though, while browsing and also looking online, that gloves with gel and padding are marketed towards road riders, while most gloves for mountain biking don't have any padding or gel. I know people have said it is a control issue, but for me, I am comfortable with padded gloves and don't have any control issues.

I want to know what the elaborated reasoning is behind for different kinds of gloves used in different kinds of cycling and also, if there is any reason for me not to get the full finger versions of my old gel gloves, which I am comfortable with, but are marketed for road riding.

#3 ·
If you are comfortable with something, why not keep using it.

I always use full finger gloves: I've crashed and landed on my hands often enough, on trails and pavement, to appreciate the protection full finger gloves gives my hands.

I tried using padded gloves but the palm felt too bulky for my taste. It made it harder for me to grip the bar and just felt weird. My hands are not particularly large.

On the road, the pressure between hands and bar is probably more static (less variation due to constant turning and bumps). Any issues with circulation and pressure points have more time to build up, even though you have possibilities to change the hand positions on a drop bar.

#4 ·