mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Glasses for forest riding?

I'm still fairly new to this and find eye wear bloody confusing. Whats a good choice for mainly forest riding? Someone had suggested a yellow lens? I don't really like wearing glasses so need something comfortable and pretty strong as I fall off ..Thanks

mtbr member
    When I lived on the east coast I use to use Oakley's old VR28 tint in thick forests where there wasn't any direct sunlight. It was an amber type tint. Now that I live in Colorado and we don't have thick forests I use There black iridium lens.

mtbr member
    I went back and forth between amber and clear for a while and ended up sticking with clear. Amber and yellow have their benefits but clear works just fine for me. 95% of our riding here is covered.

mtbr member
    Dec 2013
    I wear clear lens Bolle Spider Safety Specs. Cost me NZ$25 (US$20). They have a rubber frame and are perfect for forest riding. Comfortable and tough being safety specs and rubber. I have tried other colour lens but clear is the best for me.

Brought these from the local safety shop.

Name:  Bolle Safety.jpg
Views: 428
Size:  13.5 KB

mtbr member
    Nov 2010

Rose lenses from Smith Optics works great in forested terrain with lots of bright/dark light changes.

mtbr member
    Yellow works great for me for low light conditions like forest trails or cloudy days. Not good in bright sunshine though.

mtbr member
    I use Oakley Radarlock XL Straight Photochromic.
    They work best with my helmet.
    I suggest you try the glasses on, before you buy, preferably with your helmet on.
    Regular (non straight) Oakley Radars fit nicely, but not so well with my current helmet.
    Smith glasses did not sit very well on my nose...
    The Oalkey transition/photochromic lens works very good in low light.
    Otherwise for woods I would go with clear or light yellow.

Sent from my PG86100 using Tapatalk

mtbr member