mtbr member
    Oct 2007

Full Face or Half Helmet?

I am tempted to buy a full face helmet for use while doing some local trails. Now, besides looking really cool Why?
    Well, first of all, I am a musician by trade and I really need to be able to play. Second, I ride a motorcycle regularly and am fully aware of the difference in protection between a full face and a half helmet. What are your views?
    -ER

mtbr member
    What kind of riding are you doing? What are your local trails like?

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    ER i'm a musician as well, a pianist, percussionist, and some brass playing... i know what you mean about wanting all the protection you can get... It kinda depends on where you are riding, I personally do not wear a full face helmet (although my brass chops dont really mean much to me). How are you riding? are you just cruising down the hill for the sake of riding down a hill or are you bombing down doing time trials n such... I very rarely go balls out anymore after i got a radial head fracture in my elbow this past summer... i wasnt able to play for like a month and a half.

General Rabble-Rouser
    Full faced helmets are well worth the investment if you want to learn how to ride hard. I can attest to still having all my teeth after a scary looking wreck in front of my GF this summer

I have a TSG evolution skate lid and a Giro Remedy Full face. I stopped wearing my XC helmet a long time ago. I wear my Remedy whenever I feel it's time to go out and be reckless and really push myself when I am out jumping or riding really aggressively. Even tame local trails can be littered with painful fun when you're looking to dial in basic skills. As your core skills progress, you'll find yourself in an open face more and more based on what you want to ride that day.
    I also enjoy it now that it's fall and the cold wind picks up my FF keeps me warm

I think it's madness when I see people bombing DH/FR in open faced lids, but to each is own.

mtbr member