mtbr member

Flat shoes for long rides and HAB?

Hi all,

I've been riding clipless for over 4 years and have almost completely stopped riding bikes with flat pedals. I went to Yosemite last week and was on a bike (using flats) for much of the trip and felt like it was my first time on a bike - not someone who has been riding hard for 4 years. Almost felt a little silly because my friends on the trip knew how much I ride and saw how unimpressive I was, lol.

Anyways, I want to regain proper technique using flats. I'm thinking about getting some Five Ten's but most of their shoes seem really heavy and inadequate for hike-a-bike. During the Summer, this is probably fine but I do some pretty long/back country rides during the Fall/Winter which require good HAB shoes that I can wear comfortably for 6 hrs+

Any recommendations? Or should I just switch shoes/pedals dependent on the ride?

Thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    spank spikes and Teva links work great for me! Five Ten are not as comfortable to me, Teva's are very comfy! watch the spikes they bite!

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator

Quote Originally Posted by tweasol View Post
    Hi all,

I've been riding clipless for over 4 years and have almost completely stopped riding bikes with flat pedals. I went to Yosemite last week and was on a bike (using flats) for much of the trip and felt like it was my first time on a bike - not someone who has been riding hard for 4 years. Almost felt a little silly because my friends on the trip knew how much I ride and saw how unimpressive I was, lol.

Anyways, I want to regain proper technique using flats. I'm thinking about getting some Five Ten's but most of their shoes seem really heavy and inadequate for hike-a-bike. During the Summer, this is probably fine but I do some pretty long/back country rides during the Fall/Winter which require good HAB shoes that I can wear comfortably for 6 hrs+