mtbr member

Elbow vs knee pads

This maybe a silly question but what do you guys consider most important knee or elbow pads.. Not trying to start a debate just get the general consensus. The reason I ask is I see a lot of guys wearing knee pads but not elbow. I've been riding for almost 30 years and I've never really hurt my knees. Now elbows that's a different story. Ive been riding more rocky terrain and think well maybe I need to reconsider this.

mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Elbow vs knee pads

Knee pads.

Every time I fall (which is quite a bit) it's always at a good speed where the bike slips from underneath me, and I don't have time to control where my knees land. I usually wear both, but in Texas summers I only wear knee.

I'm on flats so it might be different for clippers.

mtbr member
    I've only ever hit my elbows on pretty much anything while cycling, so based on probability of injury they are more important.
    But if I were to bust my knee, my ability to ride a bike or walk could be seriously compromised, so based on the worst case scenario knee pads are more important.

Basic things in occupational risk management as well: likelihood and consequences of an accident. Low-low is the only acceptable condition, everything else must be addressed.

I wear both.

RTM
    #1 Latex Salesman

Elbow vs knee pads

Knees are in the line of fire from handlebars, top tubes, the ground, roots and rocks in every crash. It is very common to take a direct and painful hit on the kneecap. Generally, in most XC/trail crashes you have enough time to crash "correctly", which allows you to tuck the elbow from taking a direct hit. There's no such thing as always or never, but generally elbow guards for XC/trail rides are overkill.

I also ride DH and the crashes happen very fast without warning. I ride with full armor, but do see younger guys in t-shirts w/bare arms. Seems nuts to me but I'm an old geezer so what do I know about being cool.

- Rob