mtbr member

Budget shoes for platforms?

I've been riding clipless for over 20 years and about to experiment with platforms. I have some VP Components pedals on the way, but not sure yet what to do about shoes...

I do prefer stiffer soles than classic Vans (which I have no shortage of) but I'm not ready to shell out $100+ for Five Tens or Tevas just for an experiment; pedals are easy to sell, but shoes, no so much. Like anything though, I'm sure there some alternative options that won't break the bank and will allow me to see if it's a direction I want to go...

I'd also like something a little less bulky than the usual 5.10 offering.

What have you tried that worked and that didn't?
    Last edited by gotdurt; 10-30-2013 at 06:14 PM.
    'T'is only a flesh wound...
    Some videos

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    You might try the 661 filter, and just leave the cleat cutout in place (its the same rubbery sole material). you can find them online usually for about 50 bucks, but they fall apart pretty quickly; mine lasted about 2 years with flats. i've since switched to the teva filter, but its at a higher price point (fyi, i used SPDs for 17 years before switching to flats)
    94 Specialized Rockhopper

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    You can find five tens for half off on chainlove and similar sites. They really are the way to go in my opinion to get a true idea of platforms. I just bought some freerider vxi and love them.

Why the want to switch it up?

mtbr member
    Hmm, looks like they've gone up, plus it appears they may no longer be available in the US; Chain Reaction is the only US loc I found (and they claim to only have 2 left), the rest are in the UK.
    Some videos

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by trevor_b View Post
    You can find five tens for half off on chainlove and similar sites. They really are the way to go in my opinion to get a true idea of platforms. I just bought some freerider vxi and love them.