mtbr member

Best sunglass lens color for deep woods

A lot of my riding takes place under the deep green canopy of trees that make up Georgia mountain biking. I started riding decades ago in Colorado and California where exposed trails and intense sunshine where the norm. Down here, it's completely different.

The lighting ranges from intensely bright spots through the trees to dark areas deep in the valleys. I've got a pair of great Oakley Half Jackets that came with black lenses. These can be a bit to dark in the dark areas and transition areas. What color works best for this type of lighting? The Half Jackets have interchangeable lenses so it's an easy switch.
    I live with fear and danger every day. And on the weekends she lets me go mountain biking.

mtbr member
    I'd run the amber or yellow-ish option oooorr go with some auto-tinting glasses/lenses

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Brown seems to be the best lens colour for bringing out contrast in a wooded setting.

I like photochromic lenses for trail riding, they lighten up to a lighter tint that regular lenses for shady areas but still have enough tint to make sunlit areas comfortable. If you are in the sun for a few minutes they darken a bit.

You can get photochromic lenses in different lens colours.

mtbr member

Re: Best sunglass lens color for deep woods

Yellow-ish works well for me.

mtbr member
    Lemon yellow, vermilion or light amber.

Nickel Havr
    In Oakley tints I would check out Photochromatic (Transition), +Red or G30...
    Quote Originally Posted by William Blake
    Great things are done when men and mountains meet. This is not done by jostling in the street .

mtbr member