Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member

Why are droppers so hot?!

So it's been a while since I've really rode. like 8 years, and seems like droppers are the latest and greatest in technology, but for the price and weight, how are being recommended over upgrading breaks first? What happened to just distributing your weight? Just bought a 2013 SJ FSR EVO 29 and have been thinking about selling the Blacklite that came with it, so just trying to see whats up before making what could possibly be a stupid decision.

Interplanetary Poultry
    Well, if something breaks, it should be replaced or upgraded before you try to ride again.
    I have been riding the same FS 29 for the past 9 years. I had a wear line in my seatpost from dropping it down for downhill and dirtjumping, as well as random hooning about on the trails. A dropper post makes it so much easier. As far as distributing your weight vs dropping the post; dropping the post gets the seat out from between the legs, making the bike much easier to flick about. My big FS 29er becomes exceptionally more agile with the saddle out of the way.
    Editor In Chief, "Internet Tough Guy Magazine"
    "Home of Chuck Norris' Keyboard"

mtbr member
    if you've already ridden with a good dropper post and you didn't find it worthwhile there's really nothing more to say

there is certainly no general consensus they are more important than good brakes

mtbr member
    May 2007
    Keep the post. In 2 months, you'll wonder how you lived without when you rode last.
    Lead by my Lefty............... right down the trail, no brakes.

mtbr member
    A dropper post is not necessary but makes life so much easier. I thought the same that they can't be that big of a deal, until I got one

mtbr member
    Give it a chance, you'll likely come to love it.

Armature speller
    Sep 2004
    I can't get off the back of my seat. The dropper post (BlackLite) solved that. Gives me so much more confidence.

usually cranky