Wrench

Wherein I Notice My Tire is Melting...

I wish I could make this up.

So I'm making my morning commute from Casas del FAL to an organic chemistry class, and I see that my front tire has an unsymmetrical something-or-another going on with it. Couldn't tell much, it was kinda spinning pretty fast.

So after I park my bike, I decide to give it a look.

I see that my rubber tire, in one part, seems to have taken on the consistancy of sponge. It went from hard rubber to sponge. I mean I could peel it off with my fingers.

I took some pictures for you guys.

Scary part: I do believe it's spread.

So I'm thinking I parked in a chemical of some sort? I'm no chemical engineer, I prefer my material alive and kicking.

What's the scoop? Is this a common occurance and I'm just being stupid about it?

Rediscovered
    Haven't sat your tires in puddles of WD-40, have you?

That is odd.

mtbr member
    next time you will know to keep the tire mounted further away from the exhaust of your hovercraft when you carry it on your trunk rack.

Dirt Deviant
    Yea, I've seen that before. Must have had the tire too close to the exhaust the last time you put it on the trunk rack.

mtbr member
    Jan 2008
    That's really weird, I guess it is either an exust pipe or a chemical reaction.

Wrench
    I didn't think it was close to my exhaust. I'll check it again to make sure.

mtbr member
    Jan 2005
    I think that tire is Toast. ha

aka Willy Vanilly
    Same thing happened to me from the tire being too close to the exhaust.
    Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction.
    E. F. Schumacher

sXe

Wrench
    Alright. Well then I'll replace it when it competely dies.