mtbr member
    Jun 2007

Trying to figure out which bike to get rid of

I just started hitting the trails again after a few years, and the very first day I went out on my Nishiki Manitoba (old school :P ) it was stolen that night. I have a backup Trek 4300 and a KHS Fxt Sport at my parents house. I know little to nothing about mountain bikes as I've always just had my Manitoba and had no need to upgrade or fix it up, other than tune it.

So here I am trying to figure out which bike to get rid of and which one to ride. They are both all stock but I don't mind mixing and matching some of the parts if possible.

The KHS front forks are seized, so I'd have to use the Trek's if I wanted to keep it (if it fits). The Trek has a finicky derailer and other gear related problems as well.

So yeah, which bike should I concentrate on upgrading? I realize one is FS and the other a HT but they both have their perks while riding.... And dont say buy a new bike :P I'm a poor college student.

Thanks for the help,

-Ryan.

Former Bike Wrench
    Keep the Trek 4300...the FXT Sport is a really cheap full suspension and despite the Trek's shifting problems (probably just needs a good tuneup)...it is a substantially better bike.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    Thats what I was thinking... although I have to admit, a FS bike is fun as hell to ride....

Anyone else have opinions?

And for curiousity's sake, how does switching forks on bikes work? What would I have to know/measure to see if it would fit, or are they all universal?

Thanks again

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    Keep the trek. It doesnt sound like a FS bike will be all that necessary for you plus, riding a hardtail will make you a better rider in the end. It doesn't allow for some of the riding mistakes that a full suspension compensates for. The gear shifting problems is just an adjustment. With a tune up and some lube, it will be like a brand new bike