mtbr member
    Dec 2017

Is trail riding in the snow feasible?

Tried it out today and had a lot of wheel spin, I was thinking of getting studded tires. Will that make a huge difference?

mtbr member
    Dec 2014
    With little or with hard packed snow it's totally feasible but a whole different experience than on dry trails. If it's just snow, also aggressively treaded regular tires work ok. On the other hand, spike tires are a must if there is any ice on the trails. Proper ones like Schwalbe ISP cost a bunch though.

mtbr member
    ^^^ yep. Ice can put you down stupidly fast. Recommend flat pedals and studded tires.
    Do the math.

mtbr member
    It is very much condition and temperature dependent. I've been riding on snow for many, many years -- long before the first fat bike ever came into existence. Many of our trails close to town get packed down fairly quickly from hikers. When the temperatures are warmer, ie -- high 20s to low 30s, this makes for pretty good snow conditions -- as it packs tightly but does not quite turn into ice yet. I run very aggressive DH tires year-round, and these work very well in snow. The knobs bite into the snow and give pretty good traction. When it gets colder, as in 10-20 degrees, it's hard to ride in new snow that hasn't been packed down, because it is too cold to pack and stay cohesive. If we're only talking 2-3" of snow, then it doesn't matter because your tires will engage with the ground underneath. I'm talking feet of snow over a long winter.

It's late winter/early spring when I find that studded tires become necessary. Because at that point, the trails have been getting packed for months, and it's warming up during the daytime to the point that the snow can turn into glare ice.
    Dear U.S. Forest Service: Please ban all wilderness in my riding areas.

mtbr member