mtbr member

Time for a new Bike! Want geometry like Trek Fuel...

Hello all!

I'm greatful that I finally jumped on a bike forum (and posted not to mention). You all have a lot of knowledge here...

So...I used to ride quite often in college when I was closer to mountain trails, but not so much at the present time. I went yesterday to Palo Duro Canyon for my first technical ride in about 4 years. I was instantly reminded of how much I used to love to hit the trails and I'm back in full force. Now, about a new bike...

I have been riding a 2001 Trek Fuel 80 for about 3 years now, and I really love it. Aside from the creaky frame/components, I have no complaints about it. I love the suspension layout of the fuel and would like to get something different than a Trek with the same type of suspension geometry. I'm not sure what you call the specific type of geometry, but the the way the swing arm and rear shock are situated, I feel the "bend" offers the best movement for jumping the bike easily off the ground. Granted it's the first Full Suspension bike I have ever owned, so maybe I'm missing something and would also be open to others ideas.

Here are my currents conditions for the new bike:

-extremely reliable; least maintenance required. Quieter the better too...ha ha ha
    -good all around rider, that will take the pounding of the rocky trails.
    -geometry similar to Trek Fuel (open to others' ideas that meet my functional requirements)
    -price range: $1300-1500 (NEW or USED)

Thank you all very much for any suggestions or help in advance.

i be lurkin
    uh the new trek fuel
    me: "mom dont ride yer brakes "mom: "shut up"

mtbr member
    I've considered it as well, but I'm worried about the improvements. My fuel is "loud" and from most of what I've read, they're still creaky rides.