mtbr member
    Sep 2015

Thoughts on the Diamondback Mission Pro?

I just found out that i get 30 to 50 % off Diamondback bikes. Wanted to see what you guys thought about the Diamondback Mission Pro. I can get that bike for $3300 plus shipping. I can get the other models as well.

I am new to MTB and i currently own a 2015 Specialized Stumpjumper Comp Carbon 29 FSR. I love the stumpjumper but at that price point i am wondering how much better it is then the stumpjumper.

mtbr member
    I wouldnt want that bike. It seems like the bike you're on now is a better bike.

It kinda looks like DB made a nothing-special frame, with dated geometry and slapped a bunch of expensive parts on it. I would rather have lower end parts and a fantastic, dialed frame.

If you get the bikes half off, a mission 1 wouldnt be bad for $1500. The extra bits on the pro arent worth nearly 2 grand. They have a strange pricing strategy.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    "Better" I think is really subjective. The Mission is a much more Freeride bike than the Stumpjumper. If you ride hard, prioritize speed on the down, and like to throw the bike around, The Mission would seem like a great fit. If you are more interested in covering a lot of trail, keeping speed on the flat, and pulling less weight uphill, the Specialized you have is a better bike for that.

mtbr member
    ^^Definitely this. I've spent a lot of time on a Stumpjumper 29er, and while I generally don't enjoy the handling of 29ers on descents, I found the Specialized to be one of the best 29ers I've ever ridden in that regard. So unless you're interested in getting into heavier drops and jumps or significantly gnarlier terrain, I wouldn't consider the Diamondback to be an upgrade. Indeed, it's more of an Enduro/Freeride bike.

That said, I've got a buddy who has the older version of the DB (Not called the Mission, but something else that escapes my memory with 26" wheels) and he loves it.