mtbr member
    Jul 2009

Thoughts on DBR dualie frames for AM setups?

Just curious as to what y'all thought about an older DBR frame (1999 X-6) as an all mountain setup. Obviously not the lightest in the world, but has anyone else built one up/ridden one? Here's the specs on the bike as it was, but keep in mind I'm just talking about the frame: http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/B...1259&Type=bike

Here's a picture of the build as is: I was thinking of beefing things up a to a more AM setup, but thought I might ask you bike geniuses first.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    "I thought of that while riding my bike."
    -Albert Einstein
    On the Theory of Relativity-

mtbr member
    Sep 2009
    I just picked up this XR4 and I enjoy the hell out of riding it.

I've been a DBR guy since I started riding back in 1997. I bought this as just a frame off Craiglist and did a cheap but good build using parts I had replaced on my SC and deals I found online. It's definitely heavy but it doesn't ride as heavy as it really is. DBR's geometry to me seems different than any other bikes I've ridden. Very quick handling, nimble bikes. That said I think my DBR is more suited to light AM and more XC which is the kind of riding I have around here in Indiana. I'm going to take it to Snowshoe Mt. WV this summer to test it on the trails there and there isn't a doubt in my mind it'll take anything that I can throw at it.
    Brandon
    09 Santa Cruz Superlight
    00 Diamondback XR-4
    99 Specialized S-Works

Bicyclochondriac.
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Sp4rt4cus
    Just curious as to what y'all thought about an older DBR frame (1999 X-6) as an all mountain setup. Obviously not the lightest in the world, but has anyone else built one up/ridden one? Here's the specs on the bike as it was, but keep in mind I'm just talking about the frame: http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/B...1259&Type=bike